» Menu

Commission on Aging


Commission on Aging
Gary Lara
Health & Human Services Department
(415) 473-7185

Administered By

County of Marin


The Marin County Commission on Aging is a federally mandated advisory council. The mission of the Commission is to promote the dignity, independence and quality of life of older persons through advocacy, information, programs and services.

Related Links


According to the Older Americans Act, membership shall be composed of: (a) a majority of persons 60 years or older; (b) service providers; (c) members who reflect the geographic, racial, economic, and social complexion of the area they represent; and (d) at least one member who represents the interests of the disabled.

Term Length

3 years or 4 years

Number of Members

Twenty-three or twenty-four members: ten appointed by the Board of Supervisors (two from each of the incorporated cities, two elected from Marin County to the California Senior Legislature, and, if applicable, one Marin County resident appointed by the Governor to the State Commission on Aging.

Reimbursements For Expenses/Per Diem

Reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses in performing Commission functions duly authorized by the Executive Committee or by the full Commission within the limits of the budget for the Division of Aging.

Beginning October 1, 2022, a stipend will be available for members of boards and commissions who self-certify to household income below the County self-sufficiency standard. For more information or to  apply to the stipend program, see the Board Stipends Program Webpage.

Time and Day of Meetings

Generally, the first Thursday of each month from 10:00 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. For further information, please call 473-7118.

How to Apply

Applications may be obtained from the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors, Room 329, Administration Building, Marin Civic Center (415-473-7331), or contact the Clerk of the City/Town you wish to represent, or access the Application (opens new window) online.

Members of this Commission

View the Bylaws